#1  
Old February 17th, 2013, 11:23 PM
johnbigbootie johnbigbootie is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
johnbigbootie is on a distinguished road
Default Connecting two wireless routers together

I work in small office with four users and we use Comcast as our ISP. A separate room from the office has our cable modem. The cable modem has a Ethernet cable going to a WRT54G WAN Port. The WRT54G is not being used as a wireless router.
Coming from the LAN ports is a Ethernet cable going to a Netgear switch.
The office has Ethernet ports and one of them is hooked up to a Netgear WDNR3700 wireless router. All users are utilize the wireless network to get online. There IP Address is 10.0.x.x. When I use a Ethernet cable to a computer my IP Address is 192.168.x.x.

I need the IP Addresses of the wireless network and wired network to use the same IP Address range?

I know if I follow the following instructions I will get I what I need but I haven't figured out how to make the WNDR3700 my secondary router.
http://library.techguy.org/wiki/Conn...uters_together

How to do this on the 3700 is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 18th, 2013, 03:20 AM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,401
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connecting two wireless routers together

For the inexperienced, the golden rule is one network, one router - anytime you have two routers and you can make them do what you want, chalk it up to inexperience, and get rid of one.

What you should have been using is not two routers, but a router and a wireless access point - your options are ...

Get rid of one router (best option)

Configure one router to act as a wireless access point - which can be done by following the steps in the link you provided.
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 18th, 2013, 06:05 AM
johnbigbootie johnbigbootie is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
johnbigbootie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connecting two wireless routers together

Thank you fordem.


What steps are needed to be performed on the WDNR to accomplish the instructions based on the link I provided?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 18th, 2013, 11:59 AM
Devor's Avatar
Devor Devor is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ffynnon Garw
Posts: 1,997
Devor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connecting two wireless routers together

See if this post here helps. Particularly the eighth indented paragraph.
__________________
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA)
Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1050:08:34:23

--
How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 18th, 2013, 02:09 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Connecting two wireless routers together

simple

you need to use 3700 as AP mode

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965

if you have AP mode featured in the router interface setting then use that options. You will still uses internet port out of 3700 when using AP mode feature otherwise you will need to use above URL to make 3700 access point
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 18th, 2013, 04:48 PM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,401
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connecting two wireless routers together

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbigbootie View Post
Thank you fordem.


What steps are needed to be performed on the WDNR to accomplish the instructions based on the link I provided?

Thank you.
You need to do ALL four steps.
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:15 AM.