Old May 4th, 2013, 07:27 PM
NETGEAR Newbie

DiabloZoe is on a distinguished road
Default Access ip cam from 3G

I really could use some help setting this up, I applied for a free DNS server through dlink. So now I have a host name and it's telling me an browser ip address 68.224.x.xx. Now I am totally new to this but not computer illiterate, so now I have to set up port forwarding? If I go to DNS setup I put in the I formation and select status it shows that it's up and running, but no matter what I enter into the ip cam app on the phone it will not connect. I setup port forwarding I added a custom service, named it ip cam Not sure what to put start/end port at so I put 81/90 and now for the server ip address is this the address that the router assigned my ip camera which is 192.168.1.xx. Is this how this is setup? And help would be appreciated. Thanks
Old May 5th, 2013, 01:58 AM
NETGEAR Fanatic

Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Access ip cam from 3G

You need to set a port at the camera, practically all IP cameras will allow this, and many will also still allow for port 80 to be used at the same time. So at the camera set a unique port to use (unique to your LAN) e.g. 12345

If the camera allows for port 80 also then locally it can be addressed at its LAN IP e.g. http://192.168.1.2 otherwise if would be addressed at http://192.168.1.2:12345

Make sure the router is set to always allocate the same IP address to the camera, use the ‘address reservation’ feature of the router. Alternatively you can set an IP address at the camera itself (don’t use DHCP) e.g. 192.168.1.111, but if you do this you should also reduce the DHCP range of the router e.g. 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.100

Set up port forwarding in the router, e.g. tcp/udp arriving at port 12345 to 192.168.1.111 the start / end range for the port will be the same i.e. 12345 for both

My name is Andy.
Old May 5th, 2013, 08:43 AM
NETGEAR Newbie