#1  
Old May 22nd, 2007, 07:10 AM
rtellison rtellison is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
rtellison is on a distinguished road
Default Can't register

I have an older FVS318. I have registered for the forum, but I can't get registered for the enterprise forum. When I go to the registration page, I enter the info - name, serial number, etc... but when I click next, it keeps telling me to enter a valid serial number. I'm entering the serial number on the bottom of the FVS318. Help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 22nd, 2007, 09:56 AM
Forum_Moderator's Avatar
Forum_Moderator Forum_Moderator is offline
Moderator
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 761
Forum_Moderator is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't register

Do you have your product registered on the NETGEAR support page https://my.netgear.com/registration/login.aspx?
__________________
That's not a knife.
THAT's a knife.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 22nd, 2007, 11:30 AM
rtellison rtellison is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
rtellison is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't register

That's where I have the problem. It keeps telling me to enter a valid serial number. I'm using the serial number on the bottom of the fvs318.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 22nd, 2007, 11:32 AM
anishman anishman is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
anishman is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't register

I'm having the same problem. I have registered 2 products, can see them in 'My reistered products' but yet when i try to sign for Enterprise area access i get the following message.

Validating your NETGEAR Product Registration - Failed !
Reason: Information you provided do not match on our product registration database. Press back and verify the details you provided.

Any idea?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 22nd, 2007, 11:35 AM
beisser's Avatar
beisser beisser is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Near Munich, Germany
Posts: 3,620
beisser is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't register

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtellison View Post
That's where I have the problem. It keeps telling me to enter a valid serial number. I'm using the serial number on the bottom of the fvs318.
is the fvs318 by any chance a refurbished one? those are usually sold without a serial number (the serial is either removed, has a sticker on it or is blacked out). if thats the case , then your fvs318 does not get any support from netgear (or this forum).

if you dont have a refurbished fvs318, call techsupport. they can register the product for you and may even be able to tell you what went wrong.
__________________
Forum Rules
How to contact Techsupport using various methods!
How to contact Techsupport by phone!
How to contact Techsupport online!
IPSEC-VPN, Tips and Tricks and Howto's
How to get proper access to the Enterprise-Forum!

"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning." -- Rich Cook

EVA1: EVA9000 -> 32" Samsung LCD
EVA2: EVAx000 -> 32" Samsung LCD
NAS: ReadyNAS Pro RNDP6610
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 22nd, 2007, 11:47 AM
rtellison rtellison is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
rtellison is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't register

It's not refurbished, so I'll call tech support.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 23rd, 2007, 11:46 AM
anishman anishman is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
anishman is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't register

Mine's not refurbished either.

I did call techSupport yesterday. They said my registration info is all correct & showing up on their database. The tech support guy was totally oblivious about the enterprise section though. I did walk him through it & he couldn't figure out why I couldn't validate with my sn & name.
Hopefully someone can figure out something.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 23rd, 2007, 12:03 PM
beisser's Avatar
beisser beisser is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Near Munich, Germany
Posts: 3,620
beisser is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't register

i had a customer report something similar to me today, and i tried it with his data. it didnt work. i have informed the forum-admin to look into this.
__________________
Forum Rules
How to contact Techsupport using various methods!
How to contact Techsupport by phone!
How to contact Techsupport online!
IPSEC-VPN, Tips and Tricks and Howto's
How to get proper access to the Enterprise-Forum!

"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning." -- Rich Cook

EVA1: EVA9000 -> 32" Samsung LCD
EVA2: EVAx000 -> 32" Samsung LCD
NAS: ReadyNAS Pro RNDP6610
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 24th, 2007, 10:42 AM
centyx centyx is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
centyx is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't register

I too, have experienced this problem. Netgear support manually registered my FVS318v2 for me, but I still cannot make it through the enterprise forum signup - it fails to find my information in the database.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 24th, 2007, 11:01 AM
beisser's Avatar
beisser beisser is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Near Munich, Germany
Posts: 3,620
beisser is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't register

its buggy (as i said above). the admin is looking into this. i will post here as soon as i get some feedback
__________________
Forum Rules
How to contact Techsupport using various methods!
How to contact Techsupport by phone!
How to contact Techsupport online!
IPSEC-VPN, Tips and Tricks and Howto's
How to get proper access to the Enterprise-Forum!

"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning." -- Rich Cook

EVA1: EVA9000 -> 32" Samsung LCD
EVA2: EVAx000 -> 32" Samsung LCD
NAS: ReadyNAS Pro RNDP6610
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:35 PM.