Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11ac Routers > R6300 - AC1750

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 29th, 2013, 11:39 PM
RoodAwakening's Avatar
RoodAwakening RoodAwakening is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 10
RoodAwakening is on a distinguished road
Default Port 520

GRC's Shields Up test shows that TCP Port 520 (Extended File Name Server) is closed but not hidden. Is there a setting w/i the R6300 to hide this port from port scanning applications?

I only have one router so I have no idea why I'm seeing this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 30th, 2013, 04:02 AM
searay's Avatar
searay searay is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,256
searay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Port 520

No setting. Turn off UPNP if on and check for apps running on your devices.

Look under UPNP it might show the device IP using that port.

Are you using MAC by chance?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 30th, 2013, 04:32 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,294
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Port 520

Here is similar incident

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=81550

May want to check your devices behind that may using it
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 30th, 2013, 10:35 AM
RoodAwakening's Avatar
RoodAwakening RoodAwakening is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 10
RoodAwakening is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Port 520

Quote:
Originally Posted by searay View Post
No setting. Turn off UPNP if on and check for apps running on your devices.

Look under UPNP it might show the device IP using that port.

Are you using MAC by chance?
I have an iMac, if that's what you mean. I'm running two VMs (Windows XP Pro and Windows 7 Pro) through Parallels 9 and wonder if that may have something to do with it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 30th, 2013, 11:02 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,294
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Port 520

Unlikely the O/S is the issues but any application can request with uPnP is enabled.


Using wireshark will quicker to see if any application is requesting it
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 30th, 2013, 12:51 PM
RoodAwakening's Avatar
RoodAwakening RoodAwakening is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 10
RoodAwakening is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Port 520

I'm currently using Wireshark to see what I can find. Nothing found yet after 15 minutes of captures.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 31st, 2013, 07:23 AM
searay's Avatar
searay searay is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,256
searay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Port 520

When I searched this problem I found a article that suggested that MAC's had been found to use this port as your OP suggested.

Easy enough to find out turn mac off run test again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 7th, 2013, 01:06 PM
AppleCat293 AppleCat293 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
AppleCat293 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Port 520

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoodAwakening View Post
GRC's Shields Up test shows that TCP Port 520 (Extended File Name Server) is closed but not hidden. Is there a setting w/i the R6300 to hide this port from port scanning applications?

I only have one router so I have no idea why I'm seeing this.
RIP uses that port. Check your router to see if RIP Version, under Advanced->Setup->LAN Setup, has changed from Disabled. I found this out accidentally, when I flashed to an earlier firmware version and played around with the settings.

I just tried it before posting this and when you set it to RIP Vers 1 or Vers 2, it will show up in GRC.com. A reboot is necessary after disabling it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:57 AM.