#1  
Old December 10th, 2013, 01:22 PM
EsteveM EsteveM is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
EsteveM is on a distinguished road
Default WNR2000 v3 & chromecast

Anyone get this to work w/o issues? I get most of way their and am told I need to change some settings on the router ie. disable PNP and guest network - huh?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 10th, 2013, 02:21 PM
EsteveM EsteveM is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
EsteveM is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 v3 & chromecast

Clarification - instructions were to "enable" UPNP which I did and disable Access point/guest network, which I did and still no connection.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 10th, 2013, 02:29 PM
WizardJ's Avatar
WizardJ WizardJ is offline
Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 125
WizardJ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 v3 & chromecast

It may be that Chromecast relies on multicasting, and in the home routers from Netgear, it is disabled by default. To enable it, simply log in to the router, go to "WAN Setup" and make sure that "Disable IGMP Proxying" is not enabled (uncheck it). Apply the settings, restart your router and devices and give it another go now.
__________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

8/1 Mbit/s ADSL
D6300 @ V1.0.0.72_1.0.72
WN3500RP @ V1.0.0.22_1.0.62

I think there is a world market for maybe five computers.
Thomas Watson, IBM, 1943.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 10th, 2013, 03:33 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000 v3 & chromecast

Chromecast overall seems to have very flaky on connecting.

Most other had and issues with chromecast works after power cycle the router (on/off)
__________________
VPN Case Study
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 11th, 2013, 08:04 AM
EsteveM EsteveM is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
EsteveM is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 v3 & chromecast

Okay, got it to work but only after getting the same error messages then selecting to install by Chromecast through the web. They had me manually connect to Chromecast on my tablet WiFi, then during the process, reconnect my tablet to my home network. Weird as my tablet saw Chromecast when connected to my home network in the normal install process. Now let's see if it will work on all my other TV's. Thanks for he replies - will add G2 if its meaningful.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 11th, 2013, 02:28 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000 v3 & chromecast

Must be some to do with chrome cast.

You will find to other chrome cast issues within the past month or two in this forum but they has network error showing up .
__________________
VPN Case Study
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:04 PM.