Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers > WNDR3700 Discussion Forums

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 3rd, 2014, 03:26 AM
RobotJones RobotJones is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
RobotJones is on a distinguished road
Default WNDR3700v3 Not port Forwarding

Hi! I have my 2nd PC wired to my WNDR3700v3, but the port forwarding is not working. I put in the proper port and IP address of my PC, but the port is still closed.

How can I fix this? It's preventing me from enjoying a bunch of my software.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 3rd, 2014, 05:34 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,276
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700v3 Not port Forwarding

Make sure that WAN/Internet port of the router has public IP ( ISP released ip)
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 3rd, 2014, 06:26 AM
RobotJones RobotJones is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
RobotJones is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700v3 Not port Forwarding

How can I find out what my public IP is? Im a bit new to home networking.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 3rd, 2014, 08:56 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,276
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700v3 Not port Forwarding

Under router status in the router GUI

As long it is not 192.x or 10.x ip then you should have public ip
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 3rd, 2014, 02:21 PM
minions08 minions08 is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 419
minions08 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3700v3 Not port Forwarding

Here's how you do port forwarding :

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/24046

If still doesnt work try to connect your computer to the modem and check the ports are still closed. If its closed then better contact ISP to open it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:57 AM.