#1  
Old March 21st, 2014, 01:09 PM
tazd tazd is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
tazd is on a distinguished road
Default D6300 firmware upgrade errors

I can't upgrade my D6300 firmware. When you login it says a new version exists. I click on the link, I get:

Firmware Upgrade Assistant

A new version has been found. Do You want to upgrade to the new version now?
Current GUI Language Version: 1.0.0.20_2.1.17.5
New GUI Language Version: 1.0.0.70_3.1.2.5
Current Firmware Version 1.0.0.42
New Firmware Version 1.0.0.72_1.0.72
Release Notes:
1. Update to version 1.0.0.72

------------------------------------------------------------------

Downloading and updating the language table

------------------------------------------------------------------

Unknown Error: 111

This screen will automatically return to the previous screen in a few seconds...





If I download the latest firmware and manually try to upload it, It tries, then gets a connection reset. If I try to upload the same version it already has, it says it's the wrong firmware. In the past, I have only ever used the automatic built-in update function.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 21st, 2014, 02:36 PM
WizardJ's Avatar
WizardJ WizardJ is offline
Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 127
WizardJ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

And are you wired to the router when upgrading the firmware, or wireless?

Also, what's the reason for upgrading? I've got the same router on V1.0.0.42_1.0.42 and it's stable.
__________________
8/1 Mbit/s ADSL
Router: D-Link DIR-615
Wired AP: Netgear WNR1000v2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 21st, 2014, 03:01 PM
tazd tazd is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
tazd is on a distinguished road
Default Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

wired. Just hoping for some improved 2.4ghz performance
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 21st, 2014, 04:51 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

hard reset the router first then try again with the firmware
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 22nd, 2014, 12:33 AM
whitehart whitehart is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
whitehart is on a distinguished road
Default Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

I have exactly the same issue. I tried the hard reset which didn't work I also downloaded the zip file and tried that way again this failed
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 22nd, 2014, 11:28 AM
Devor's Avatar
Devor Devor is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ffynnon Garw
Posts: 1,997
Devor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

Revert to factory settings from within the router's GUI and try again. BTW, did you unpack the downloaded ZIP archive?
__________________
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA)
Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1050:08:34:23

--
How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 22nd, 2014, 06:23 PM
lugworm lugworm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
lugworm is on a distinguished road
Default Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

I did "Revert to Factory Settings".... But the thing that seemed to work for me was to download the xxx.72 Firmware from their site - unzip it with 7Zip - and update the router manually from the "Administration"; "Router Update" Tab. Meh! It only cost me a weeks wages - one year ago.... So I can understand why they can't be bothered to properly write 25 megs of Firmware.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 23rd, 2014, 10:31 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

It's more trustworthy if you manually uploads then rely on automtic download from the router GUI
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 23rd, 2014, 02:28 PM
whitehart whitehart is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
whitehart is on a distinguished road
Default Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

lugworm,

I will try this again - I have tried both methods both failed

Last edited by Mars Mug; March 26th, 2014 at 11:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 23rd, 2014, 07:12 PM
Devor's Avatar
Devor Devor is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ffynnon Garw
Posts: 1,997
Devor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: D6300 firmware upgrade errors

I suggest reading step four of the 'Check and Change' guide, located here. The guide will provide one way to properly change firmware, even if it's the same version. While written for a different model the instructions should be interchangeable. If applicable, it is recommended that all USB devices are safely removed from the router before beginning. Always use a wired connection to perform the firmware change. Only use saved configuration files when there are no issues and only with the same firmware version to avoid contamination.
__________________
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA)
Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1050:08:34:23

--
How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:02 PM.